Isobel Sneddon, or “Izzy” as she was affectionately known by so many was an integral part of Dundee Football Club for more than 4 decades.

Many younger players who signed for The Club were greatly indebted to her as she fussed over them, looking after them and helping many of them settle in the City.

Alistair Gibb – a long-time supporter based in Alyth – thought it appropriate that she was remembered for her sterling work over such a long period of time and contacted friends and ex-players with a view to funding a trophy in her memory. Every person he contacted were happy to be involved and make a donation.

Having spoken with the management at Dens Park, it was felt that a trophy in her name should reflect the Youth set-up and her trophy will be presented to the ‘Youth Players Player of the Year’.

All football players will tell you that the highest accolade in the game is being honoured by your peers. Hopefully this will act as a fitting memory of one of the stalwarts of the club.

With grateful thanks to all who kindly subscribed to the memory of Isobel Sneddon who may be gone, but will never be forgotten.

Dave Forbes, Steve Campbell, Bobby Geddes, Tosh McKinlay, Jim Duffy, Stephen Frail, Kenneth Gibb, Alistair Gibb, Jim Hendry & Morten Wieghorst.

Pictured is Alistair Gibb presenting the trophy to Director of Football John Nelms.

Sign up to #TheDEE News

Sign up to our newsletter and be the first to #THEDEE news, exclusive updates and offers.

We respect the value of your inbox and mail, and we want to make sure that you are certain we can contact you. We will process your personal data as set out in our Privacy Policy.