Fast Facts – St. Johnstone

  • St Johnstone were formed in 1884 by members of the local cricket team looking to occupy their time once the cricket season was finished
  • The club’s name comes from the colloquial name for Perth in the Middle Ages “St John’s Toun” due to the church in the middle of the town being dedicated to John the Baptist
  • The first match between the clubs took place on April 18th 1903 in a Dewer Cup semi-final tie at Dens which The Dee won 3-0
  • The first league meeting between the clubs took place at St Johnstone’s newly opened ground Muirton Park on October 4th 1924 which Dundee won 2-1
  • Dundee of course became Champions of Scotland in 1962 with a 3-0 win relegating the Saints in the process
  • St Johnstone’s record crowd is 29,972 at the Saints’ previous ground Muirton Park against Dundee in the Scottish Cup in February 1951
  • St Johnstone’s record crowd at McDiarmid Park is also against Dundee; 10,545 on May 23rd 1999
  • St Johnstone won the Challenge Cup at Dens in 2007/08 beating Dunfermline Athletic 3-2
  • St Johnstone have won the Forfarshire Cup on five occasions after joining the Forfarshire FA from the Perthshire FA in 1988
  • St Johnstone’s 2014 Scottish Cup success was the club’s major trophy win
  • Johnny Pattillo, who won the League Cup with Dundee in 1951 became the first player / manager in Scottish Football when he took over at Muirton in 1953
  • The highest transfer fee St Johnstone have paid is £400,000 for Billy Dodds from Dundee in 1994

Sign up to #TheDEE News

Sign up to our newsletter and be the first to #THEDEE news, exclusive updates and offers.

We respect the value of your inbox and mail, and we want to make sure that you are certain we can contact you. We will process your personal data as set out in our Privacy Policy.